Archives

Fun Ambush

Any bloggers out there fancy joining in a blog ambush?


It’s just a way of supporting each other and generating traffic to our blogs.

All the details can be found HERE.

Advertisements

The Soul Catcher

21533806_10155711847254138_909377334_o

To preserve her sanity, Jemma lives her lie—that she is normal. As a child, her psychic gifts cost her everything. So when she foresees a woman’s murder, she does nothing to prevent it and unwittingly helps a serial killer get away with another murder.
Guilt-ridden, she reports the crime only to find herself thrown into a world she didn’t know existed. Coerced into working with the police, battling to keep herself alive and dealing with newfound emotions, Jemma is forced to use the gifts she sees as a curse, to save the lives of others.

Amazon

21469854_10155711847224138_2128159166_n

***** What would you do if you were given the choice between saving your sanity, or saving the lives of strangers? It’s a choice Jemma thought she would never have to make. Could you endure what Jemma does? Get your copy of The Soul Catcher now to see. Available on KU, eBook and paperback. myBook.to/TheSoulCatcher *****

***** Have you wondered what it would be like to be normal by day, superhero by night? Jemma has, and it’s not all she thought it would be. Get your copy of The Soul Catcher today and join Jemma on her dark and twisted journey into the world of the supernatural. Available on KU, eBook and paperback myBook.to/TheSoulCatcher *****

21460302_10155711847259138_683664005_o

Excerpt

“I’ve spent the last ten years trying to avoid touching people. And you’re telling me you purposefully want me to make myself see horrific deaths of people?” I stare at Mitchell waiting for an answer. All I get is a tick in the side of his neck again and a very angry look on his face. “I don’t think so,” I tell him and start to make my way past him; I will find my way out of this damn place. That’s when I hear the safety catch of a gun. A barrel presses against my back. Things change quite quickly. We can have all the will in the world, but put a loaded gun against someone, well; sticking to doing the opposite is hard.

myBook.to/TheSoulCatcher

Death, torture, ghosts, visions, demons and more. What else could you want?
SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

Emma in the Night

Screen Shot 2017-08-29 at 10.39.31Genre: Mystery/Psychological/Thriller

Description

Two sisters go missing.
Only one returns.

We believe what we want to believe. We believe what we need to believe.

When my sister and I disappeared three years ago, they found Emma’s car at the beach. Some people believed she had gone there to find a party or meet a friend who never showed. They believed that she’d gone for a swim. They believed that she’d drowned. Maybe by accident. Maybe a suicide.

Everyone believed Emma was dead.

As for me, well – it was not as simple as that.

Is It A Series?

No

Is It Easy To Read

No


Karen’s Book Buzz Review

I came across the book on a blog, the reviewer loved it and the description sounded just the sort of book that would intrigue me. On Amazon, the reviews are good with only a couple that said it was slow.

The chapters are set between Cass, one of the missing sisters, and told in the first person, and Abby, an FBI doctor sent to investigate and written in the third person, or it could even have been in the second person.

I found it difficult to latch on to the main character, I’m not even totally sure which was the main character. I like to associate with the lead in my books, almost become them, or at least like them and sympathise with them. I could do neither with these two.

The author is a clever writer and did a lot of research into her subject matter and it showed. The story line was good, but I found myself skipping through the long narratives. At several points in the story, I wasn’t even sure I was enjoying the book, I didn’t like the style very much. The only thing that compelled me to keep going was that I wanted to know what had really happened.

This book could very well end up as a film and, it reminded me very much of The Girl on The Train, Appletree Yard, and Gone Girl. As in the latter, I think the story should have ended earlier.

It would be interesting to know what you think if you have read it.

Amazon UK
Amazon US

 

 

Quick Summer Read

Looking for something to read on the beach?

Well, I’ll tell you the truth? This book is free with kindle Unlimited!
Genre: Thriller/Romance

Set in Manchester in 2005.

Sarah and Abby are roommates. A stalker is after one of them. A brick through the window, a letter containing razor blades and then the silent phone calls. Who is the victim? Which girl has a secret past, and why? 

myBook.to/TTWO

Appetite for Innocence

Screen Shot 2017-07-28 at 10.57.07Genre: Thriller/Psychological/Crime/Mystery

Description

Be careful what you post online. Your next check-in might lead him right to you…

A serial rapist is kidnapping teenage girls. But he’s not interested in just any teenage girls—only virgins. He hunts them by following their status updates and check-ins on social media. Once he’s captured them, they’re locked away in his sound-proof basement until they’re groomed and ready. He throws them away like pieces of trash after he’s stolen their innocence. Nobody escapes alive.

Until Ella.

Ella risks it all to escape, setting herself and the other girls free. But only Sarah—the girl whose been captive the longest—gets out with her. The girls are hospitalized and surrounded by FBI agents who will stop at nothing to find the man responsible. Ella and Sarah are the key to their investigation, but Sarah’s hiding something and it isn’t long before Ella discovers her nightmare is far from over.

Fans of The Butterfly Garden and The Girl Before will devour Appetite for Innocence

Warning: Contains sexual violence which may be a trigger for some readers.

Is It A Series?

No.

Is It Easy to Read?

Yes.


Karen’s Book Buzz Review

This has been on my Kindle a long time. I’m fairly certain I won it or downloaded it at a Facebook Event.

As is the case, the more I downloaded the further back the book went until I didn’t see it anymore. As I often shuffle through and think I’m not buying any more till I read what I have, I passed it by. I thought it was an erotica book! I have to be in the mood to read those. So when I was looking for something to read, I saw it again and thought, what’s this?

Wow, this was my kind of book and I can’t understand how I missed it. I didn’t know until I started reading that it was a psychological thriller. It’s about a serial rapist who grooms girls for his own pleasure, but it was different from what you would expect.

The story was written from the first person viewpoint of Ella, the main character, and from Sarah, two of the girls kept a prisoner in a basement. It also switched from then and now. As you read the now chapters, the reader doesn’t know what happened then and really wants to find out. What happened to Ella that made her like she is? Why is Sarah strong one minute and not the next? You also switch between victim sympathy and oh wait – perhaps she is bad after all.

This was so cleverly written and so much of a page turner, I could not put it down! It was gripping and I was sorry when it finished. Every time I had worked out the ending, the author switched. So clever!

Amazon UK
Amazon  US

Indie author Advert – Locke and Key, by Christie Stratos

This looks good, doesn’t it? I even signed up for the newsletter!

An Authors Blog

Christie Stratos headshot_outdoors_crop.jpg

Bio:

Christie Stratos is an award-winning writer who holds a degree in English Literature. She is the author of Anatomy of a Darkened Heart and Locke and Keye, the first two books in the Dark Victoriana Collection. Christie has had short stories and poetry published in Ginosko Literary Journal, Andromedae Review, 99Fiction, and various anthologies. An avid reader of all genres and world literature, Christie reads everything from bestsellers to classics to indies.

Sign up for my brand new newsletter here! You’ll only get emails when I have a new release coming up, a sale, or a giveaway.

Social media links:

Website: http://christiestratos.com

Newsletter: http://bit.ly/2thw6Pn

Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Christie-Stratos/e/B015L5FMTM/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/christiestratos

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/christie_stratos/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/christiestratos

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/christiestratosauthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/christiestratos

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/cstratoswrites

Locke and Keye Amazon link:

Amazon: https://bookgoodies.com/a/B073YPBHST

LOCKE AND KEYE 003.jpg

Locke and Keye excerpt:

Matthew looked down at his interwoven fingers. “I wonder what Jude knows that we don’t,” he…

View original post 66 more words