A Work in Progress

a work in progress-001.jpg

A Work in Progress: The Life of a Disgraced Author

Snider was on the way to having it all—family, success and a movie deal. Then his parents die and he is never the same again.

Fast forward a few years and Snider is a man who takes pride in punishing himself, forcing himself to live in squalor, as his sister lives it up in a luxurious apartment and enjoying the London nightlife.

With no drive and no ambition to take himself out of the rut, things soon to change as the disgraced author is forced to do things he swore he’d never to do. He lands himself in some of the craziest antics that are both comical and highly sexual.

Buy Link – and it’s free to download!

Excerpt

Half-empty glass of rum to my right, begging to be drained as a swirl of smoke drifted upward. The only light on in my dingy piece-of-crap shack was the light emitting from my computer screen, illuminating my average-looking mug.

Death is a funny old thing; sure, she does, in fact, affect us in different ways, but there are still a few things that are always the same: loss and change. Whoever says death changes nothing, they’ve clearly never lost anyone in their life. Death can change our entire world; the trick is to not let it.

I never learned that trick. I used to be someone. Well, someone who was about to become someone. I never really thought that much of myself as a writer. I did it because I enjoyed it, and then when the first book was published and started to sell fairly well, I really enjoyed it.

So much so, I worked on my second book. Then on a third.

But then everything went wrong. Just as my dream of becoming an international best-selling author was within my grasp, it all slipped away. Sure, I could have tried harder to grab it with both hands, but the truth is, I threw it away. I was a twenty-one year old on the verge of having it all, and despite my increasing success, I still lived at home with my sister and our parents. Our older brother used to live with us too, but he moved out, met a girl, and things got very serious. Then they moved away. Far away. And due to not having seen him in months, our parents decided to pay our brother a visit. They could have driven to his place in France (rather, should have driven), but they wanted to fly out and surprise him instead.

The plane never arrived at its destination, and its demise was broadcast on every news channel on TV.  That whole day I felt like something was wrong, but I never acted on it. Instead, I said goodbye and let them go on their way, and now they were being reported as dead. No survivors.

That was the day my parents died.

The day I had to sit my eighteen-year-old sister down and tell her what happened. The day I had to make the worst phone call of my life, to my brother.

And the day everything changed.

I bid farewell to success and allowed myself to be another author whose name became lost to the ages and sent myself into the bottom of as many bottles I could lay my hands on. That was almost three years ago, and I look back to that moment every day. But what’s the point in thinking of what-ifs and wishing to the change the past? The past is set, and there’s bugger all anyone can do to change that. Mind you that is all a bit too much information too soon for just the first chapter, but then some people have their way of doing things and I have mine.

And I’m the one telling this story.

So here I sit in shadowy squalor, a heavy-drinking, failed writer, living in London who spends half his time looking after his sister and the other half worrying about her.

My name is Sam Snider and this is my life now.

 


 

 

Other Books by Rocky

Wait & Bleed: (Horror/Thriller)

First, he will kill you when you are home alone and eat your chocolate cake, then he’ll slaughter your family as you sleep and even then he is just getting started. A psychopathic murderer is bad enough, worst still when they lose all sanity and desire nothing more than to build a body count higher than Everest as he drags you along with him for the ride, but sometimes even the Hunter becomes the Hunted. With the promise of death at every turn Jack wants to play a game, will you play with him?

London Calling: (Espionage Thriller)

England, a nation under attack. The Prime Minister has been kidnapped, the Deputy PM murdered and MI6, the epitome of Intelligence, is descending into chaos. With moles leaking state secrets, M16—and the country—are being destroyed from within. All the tinder needs now is a match—and London will surely burn. Their only hope is Deep Water Operative, Navy Captain John Lewis, a man tasked with leading the mole hunt, salvaging a dying MI6 and finding out who is responsible for the carnage before them. The only question is: can Lewis prevent the chaos in time, or will England fall to enemies within with himself as the scapegoat?

 Scars & Souvenirs: (Emotional Thriller)

Every scar tells a story, tales of loss, tales of regret. The scars on my arms an echo of when times were hard. The scars on my eyes of the dreaded horrors I can never unsee. The scars on my soul, a lasting memory of the sins that tore my soul apart. The scars on my heart caused from a love forever lost. And the scars on both my wrists, the end result of a failed attempt to end a life of woe. Some scars should never be open, but mine are and they refuse to heal.

 The Eye of Mares: The Rise of the Elohim Chronicles (Fantasy YA)

Nearly four years have passed since Zach drew blade against the Shanzi Shimay and now the time has come for him to draw his sword once more. The Realm of Mares has fallen victim to invasion as three terrifying beasts of darkness, seek to destroy the world around them, as they await the inevitable arrival of their King. With dark times ahead, the numbers of the Watchers on Iris has grown, as Zach is joined by seven fellow students, all too eager to prove their worth. It’s not long before the students are put to the test facing off against the Nein Navy and uncover a dark secret. The stage is set and the Battle for Mares is under-way.

The Invisible Man: (Short story Thriller)

When you’re a bona fide nobody who no one pays much attention too, it’s easy to get away with most things, but when you’re the Invisible Man, well that’s when you can get away with murder. This is the story of how the Invisible Man got his name.

All works are also available on all Amazon sites, for Kindle.

Rocky Rochford

Rocky Rochford

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

